Apply to Teach a Paideia Class!

cropped-1393121_241334299348633_484677477_n.pngThe season for Paideia class applications is upon us! You can download the application at bit.ly/H2XW4S. It’s due Nov. 1st, so fill it out swiftly and email it to paideiaczar@gmail.com

When I was at Reed, Paideia was the time when I had the most valuable interactions with Alumni. Renn Fayre was a land when I hovered in my own space, my own experiences, ignoring the strangers among us. Yet during Paideia alumni came back to teach, to give, to remember. Old traditions were accessible. Alumni were invigorated with the energy of Somewhere Else, and they brought it down on the college for a thrilling week. I think that Paideia relies on Alumni to teach classes for three key reasons: because they bring special skills from beyond college, because they pass on knowledge of Reed past, and because without them the Paideia catalogue would thin considerably. The brief mingling of students, faculty, and alumni sharing knowledge is magical.

While a student, I taught nothing. I was too “busy”, academically drained, and largely too self-doubtful. As an Alumna, I finally had a chance to make up for the Paideia classes I never taught, and a rare opportunity to engage with College in a way where I’m a contributor and not a consumer.

I encourage you to consider giving back by teaching a class at Paideia!

Please forward the class application info to any Reedies who you think might be interested, or post it to Facebook or Twitter. Consider teaching a class with someone else for double the fun, and remember that non-Reedie friends are welcome to help out with your classes, too.

See you soon!
– Kara Sowles ’10

Paideia this year is Jan. 18 – 26th, 2014
Here is the application to teach a class, which you can download: bit.ly/H2XW4S
You can email the application to paideiaczar@gmail.com
Class applications are due by Nov. 1st

About anudibranch

A wandering sea slug. Sometimes the wandering is so slow, I look like a stationary sea slug. A radical dresser in Portland, OR. This may or may not make me a piece of furniture. My Real-Life Adventures Blog: http://anudibranch.wordpress.com/ Twitter: Follow me @Feynudibranch
This entry was posted in January Paideia. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apply to Teach a Paideia Class!

  1. Jim Kahan says:

    Thank you, Rory, for providing this easier way to get stuff to the czar. The rest of you: don’t be shy!

Leave a Reply

